DAR-ES-SALAAM, Tanzanian President John Magufuli has announced a Cabinet reshuffle, creating two new ministries and nominating five new deputy ministers, which he describes as a strategic move to enhance government efficiency in serving the people.

The two new ministries are being created barely a month after experts in the mining sector proposed the splitting of the Ministry of Energy and Minerals into two full-fledged portfolios.

The president's weekend announcement on the reshuffle also saw the split of the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries into two, and brings the total number of ministries to 21. The newly created dockets are Livestock and Fisheries and Minerals.

In the reshuffle, two Ministers and one deputy minister have been dropped, bringing in a single new face and promoting five deputies to full ministers. The axed are Gerson Lwenge, who headed the Ministry of Water and Irrigation and Natural Resources, Tourism's Prof Jumanne Maghembe and Anastazia Wambura from the Ministry of Information, Culture, Arts and Sports.

Dr Magufuli has appointed George Mkuchika as Minister of State at the President's Office for Public Service Management and Good Governance, taking over from Angellah Kairuki who has been appointed Minerals Minister.

The promoted deputy ministers are Seleman Jafo (Ministry of Regional Administration and Local Governments), Merdadi Kalemani (Energy), and Isack Kamwelwe (Water and Irrigation). Deputy Ministers Hamis Kigwangalla (Health) and Luhaga Mpina (Environment) have been promoted and transferred to the Ministries of Natural Resources and Tourism and Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries, respectively.

President Magufuli also brought in 14 new faces as deputy ministers.