Consideration of new applications for ECOSOCC General Assembly by the Credential

Committee: Eleven qualified candidates join the General Assembly

The Credential Committee (CC) of the Economic Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC) met in

Hilton Ramses, Cairo, Egypt from 17-19 December 2016 to examine and appraise the

applications submitted by the African civil organizations members of the 2nd ECOSOCC

General Assembly. The meeting was chaired by the Head of the CC, Mrs Nagwa Metwally.

The meeting took place ahead of the General Assembly scheduled for March 2017, as

per the decision of the ECOSOCC Standing Committee that highlighted what needs to be

achieved before the GA Meeting, including the finalization of the Strategic Plan, the Code

of Ethics and Conduct, the Rules of Disciplinary Committee, rules of procedures of the SC

and the elections of new members in the GA.

The Credential Committee meeting was attended by all the members representing the

five African regions and representatives of the African Union Commission Departments

involved previously in the ECOSOCC elections process.

The meeting considered more than fifty (50) CSOs applications coming from the

following twenty one (21) Countries: Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi, Uganda, Tanzania,

Seychelles, Kenya, Sudan, Senegal, Guinea, Niger, Togo, Guinea Bissau, Gambia, Cote

d’Ivoire, Ghana, Gabon, Cameroun, Congo, Chad and Libya.

Eleven (11) applications has been considered as successful and it was decided that

the qualified candidates will join the next meeting of the General Assembly as new members

after finalizing the necessary procedures.

The Credential Committee encouraged Civil Society Organizations from African Union

Member States under represented or not represented at the General Assembly to apply for

membership. In this regard, it was decided that the reception of new applications will be

accepted till the 31st January 2017. At the end of this period, another meeting of the

Credential Committee will be decided to review the set of applications received.

Source: African Union Commission (AUC).